Welcome to CRAZY- (Part 1: The Before)

About two years ago my life consisted of being a mom to two elementary-aged kids, a wife to an overworked husband, and for all intents and purposes, a bored and somewhat miserable housewife. I spent my days cleaning or decorating the house, cooking and eating, and fantasizing about moving to a new house somewhere far away just so I could have an “adventure”. I exercised almost every day but never saw anything come of the hard work, and hurt all over… my knees were a mess, my wrists were constantly giving me problems, and my lower back gave me so much pain I had to see a chiropractor at least three times a week. My friends consisted of my mom, my sister, and my sister-in-law and the generic “acquaintances” on Facebook. In my free time I watched real estate and cooking shows, and scrapbooked my life into scrapbooks that no one ever looked at. Although I loved the people in my life, it was boring. I hadn’t made a friend in years, and I was growing more and more complacent with simply growing older, growing fatter, accepting the aches and pains that went along with both, and living the typical adult life of a stay-at-home mom.

Well, I know this is going to sound incredibly ridiculous, but something saved me from that life. And that something was discovering a passion that I had no idea I was even missing. And that passion was football. My very first match to watch on tv from start to finish was the USA vs England match at the start of the World Cup 2010. My husband had been a football fan (Barcelona and Bayern Munich in particular) for several years before this, but he would always watch alone, and sporadically, like when the kids and I were occupied doing something else. So, in an attempt to try to “bond” with him, I hired a baby-sitter and took him to a pub to watch this match. This decision, as silly as it sounds, was one that would alter my life, for now, if not forever!

Without going into too many details, following the World Cup that year led to following La Liga during the 2010-2011 season, which led to following the national team friendlies and qualifying matches, which led to following the summer tournaments such as The Gold Cup and Copa America and of course the Women’s World Cup, which led to now following La Liga, the Premiere League, and the Bundesliga during this 2011-2012 season. So here I am today, absolutely hooked… Even writing a blog about it! One day I posted as much on my Facebook and Susan, an old friend from high school and the one and only friend I had at the time that followed football, responded with “Welcome to CRAZY.”

Man, she wasn’t kidding.

But I’ll take CRAZY any day over the life I was resigned to live before… because I’ve discovered excitement, joy, friendship, inspiration, community, pride, courage, determination, and PASSION ever since I discovered this sport. I know to the average reader, this does in fact sound CRAZY. But if you’re a football fanatic like me, you know exactly what I’m talking about. To learn about how my life has indeed changed for the better you can continue reading my story in the next post. I hope you’ll join me!

5 thoughts on “Welcome to CRAZY- (Part 1: The Before)

  1. I love football and I’m proud too!!!!

  2. I’m so far gone that my strait jacket’s got a Messi 10 on the back, Germany patch stitched over my mouth, and Iker’s gloves on my hands; all so I’ll stop screaming at the telly, stop writing, and stop surfing the web. Too bad my captures don’t know how to stop the passion or pride.

  3. em says:

    This is so bizarrely familiar to me… only my kids may be a little older…

    • justpitchy says:

      I’m happy you can relate! I love finding other moms in these forums… We are a minority! I think our experiences are slightly different than others’, which is partly my reason for writing about it. Thanks for reading. 🙂

Leave a Reply

