“A Special Little Footballer”… Mesut Ozil

It would be remiss of me to not dedicate my first “special footballer” post to Mesut Ozil, my most favorite of all players out there in the world of football. I’m just a little hesitant to start such an endeavor, knowing I may not be able to stop writing, or uploading images. My library of pics and gifs has grown so large, it’s going to be difficult to choose just a few. However, I’m sure I’ll have good reason to post about him often, so I’ll just spread them out. But first, let’s start with what I believe he deserves to be known for above all else… his incredible skills and talent as a footballer.

It pains me to write these words but… I did not really notice or watch him during the World Cup 2010. I know, I know… he was FABULOUS in the World Cup (I’ve gone back and watched as many of the highlights as I could get my hands on on You Tube since then)… But because my hubby was gung-ho over Spain, that was who we watched and followed. Which probably means the only game I watched of Germany was the Spain/Germany semi-final. What I do remember… again, pains me to write this, is my husband pointing him out and saying, “That guy looks like Stewie”, as in from the cartoon The Family Guy. 😦 I think I agreed, and that’s all I can remember from that time.

Fast forward a few months to when I started watching La Liga games… Barcelona and Real Madrid games in particular. We get GolTv here in the States, which means we have the pleasure (depends who you ask I guess, but I LOVE him…) of listening to Ray Hudson commentate either the Barca or RM match each weekend. Well, thanks to Ray constantly gushing over “this special little footballer” named Mesut Ozil, I started to pay attention to what it was Ray was talking about.

OH. MY. GOD. That boy could play. He could dribble. He could launch long balls. He could speed past the fastest of defenders. He could “truck it” full field without slowing down. He could shoot. He could juggle. He could soft-touch the ball out of the air. And my personal favorite… He could deliver that deadly, heart-stopping pass that led to a beautiful goal. Other than not being much of a “header” or a particularly fearless wall participant, he could do it ALL brilliantly.

Setting up for another terrifying wall experience…

And so effortlessly, and elegantly, and efficiently. His skills sold me. I was knock-down, drag-out, SOLD on this little Stewie look-alike. After about two matches of this “paying attention” I went from a casual football fan to an obsessive one… determined to pay better attention to all things related to this sport. Because it was all beautiful.

Speaking of beautiful… I may have also become, ahem, a little obsessed by his unique look as well. Admittedly, he’s not what I would call “obviously” handsome by the casual onlooker. I get that. He takes a little studying to truly get it. 😉 There’s some unique combination of attitude, personality, hard-work, talent, physique, AND physical beauty that all come together to form what is “Mesut”. I’m often teased by my family and friends that don’t get it with him. But what they don’t understand is that his beauty really does extend beyond the most shallow definition of “attractiveness”. And there are MILLIONS of others that do get it, so I take comfort in knowing that I’m not alone.

One last shameless excuse to post another picture…

Ok, I think I’ll stop there. I could go on and on and on… but knowing he will give me good reason to talk about him again in the near future, I’ll save my additional words and thoughts for another time. 🙂

4 thoughts on ““A Special Little Footballer”… Mesut Ozil

  1. Sveva says:

    I’m always happy when I find football blogs written by women! Of course I started reading your blog from the post dedicated to our boy 🙂
    You described him perfectly, both his football and his unique look.
    You always hear of players that are “the next Zidane”, I hate this comparison, nobody is like Zidane, but Ozil…well I can totally see the similarity: their elegance, the vision, the ability to make things look easy.
    I really want to read all your posts, I’m especially curious to read how your love for football started (I think it’s in the first two posts), but now I have to go to work.
    I also wanted to ask you if you watch some Serie A. I know it has a bad reputation, both for the scandals (awful story) and for the boring game, but some teams are not bad (Juve, Napoli, Lazio, Roma). But I remember in a comment in crinkly ears you said you can’t stand drama…so maybe Serie A it’s not a good idea 🙂

    P:S: I was almost forgetting, I’m musetta from crinkly ears, I usually use my first name, Sveva, when I write in other blogs, it’s shorter 🙂

    • justpitchy says:

      Oh my goodness! I’m so glad you visited! Please, feel free to read-around. I am sometimes a little embarrassed by what I write because I feel like my lack of experience shines through (or I come across as some fan-girl… puh-lease! 😉 ). I’m relatively new to following football (it is in my first and second post- Also listed under “pages” on the homepage as My Story) so I don’t have much to draw upon besides what I’m experiencing at the moment. But I enjoy documenting my thoughts, and if others can enjoy it as well than that’s a bonus! I’ve heard that about Zidane ever since Mesut arrived at Madrid… I can’t really form an opinion because I was never privileged to see him play. But from what I hear it’s 1) a very high compliment and 2) pretty close to accurate. I haven’t gotten into Serie A much because honestly, I can’t squeeze in one more team! Last season I tried to catch a few Lazio games (because of Klose TBH) and a few Roma games (to see if Bojan could do anything). I’d love to watch more Juve because I have a friend that really likes them so it’d be fun to have someone else to talk about with her! I do have problems with drama, which is why I’ve loved watching the Bundesliga (so much less drama!)- but obviously it’s a given when watching La Liga as well. Thanks for your comment! 😀

  2. Sveva says:

    Bojan this year plays in Milan, my team! Poor baby, he arrived in the worst moment, this is probably the worst team in decades. And Klose is awesome, I love him too. I lived in Rome until April and people really adore him (well, at least one half, the other half of Romans is devoted to Totti :D). I too understand how difficult is to follow more than one team: I have Milan, Madrid (I’m not really a fan, I started following them when Zidane left Juve) and my flatmate supports Barca… we often watch two matches at the same time (like tomorrow, since Milan and Real play at the same time).
    And don’t be embarassed, I can’t see any lack of experience, I saw a beautiful and accurate description of a player not easy to describe, so keep writing! 🙂

    • justpitchy says:

      I spent one month in Rome back in college and LOVED it. I so badly want to go back. 🙂 I hope Bojan does well there, but it’ll be a difficult year I think! I’m sure you’ll discover my unfortunate predicament of being a Barca fan that fell for a guy “from the wrong side of the tracks” so to speak. The more I followed him, the more involved I got with Real Madrid blogs and made friends with Real Madrid fans… bringing me where I am today. A crazy bi-teamual that should not be allowed to exist. Essentially, I fit in nowhere so that’s why I talk to myself here a lot. 🙂 But ultimately, finding a common ground with other females at Crinkly-Ears has been the most comfortable.

Leave a Reply

