“A Special Little Footballer”: Robert Lewandowski

If you happen to follow me on twitter than it’s no surprise that this guy is one of my favorite footballers. Robert Lewandowski is a Polish international that plays in the Bundesliga for Borussia Dortmund. Admittedly, I did not watch a single Borussia Dortmund game before April of last year. We get golTv here, and there are Bundesliga matches shown every weekend. However, we really only watched La Liga games because that was all we made time for. But sometime last April I caught a Dortmund game and couldn’t believe how much fun it was to watch. It was one of those end-to-end type games… which is sometimes refreshing for this Barcelona fan who can get a little tired of the bazillion passes needed to move the ball 50 yards. Anyways, I also noticed this striker that was playing. He was kinda tall and lanky looking, but fast, and SO tenacious. I think that’s the word that best describes him for me. He’s got a tenacity that produces results. He’ll charge the goal from 50 yards back, receive the ball at a full-on sprint and get a shot off so quickly that the keeper is left wondering what just happened. In the box, he’s got that ability of always knowing exactly where to be at exactly the right time… meeting crosses with both his feet or his head. To date, he has 20 league goals. There’s a reason fans affectionately refer to him as “LewanGOALski”.

He’s also played in every league game this season, which is a significant improvement from last. Lukas Barrios was the starting striker last season, but when he returned from the summer competitions with an injury Robert got the nod. And he’s done nothing but prove himself to his coach, his team, and of course the fans ever since. This past Wednesday he scored the winning goal against rival Bayern Munich. That was goal #20 which hasn’t been done in a single season for Dortmund since Stephane Chapuisat did so in 1991-1992. And it was exceptional as well… the slightest back heel touch on the ball was just enough to leave Neuer completely unprepared.

Needless to say, we decided last April we were going to watch more Bundesliga this season. And while I enjoy a number of German teams, Borussia Dortmund has become a fast favorite. In part, due to Lewandowski’s beautiful contribution to the beautiful game. No doubt this guy is turning heads in Europe. I know he’s turned mine, and I’m hopeful I can do my part to bring him notice.

Too many lovely pictures NOT to post…

For an excellent blog post that does a much better job describing his play and rise in the Budesliga go here.

And for Robert’s personal website, go here. The English portion is not updated very frequently, but it’s still a good place to visit. 🙂

Thank you hey-key for the lovely opening picture as well as the gif of the goal. Sadly, cannot find the original poster of the LewanGOALski gif.

4 thoughts on ““A Special Little Footballer”: Robert Lewandowski

  1. maisa798 says:

    I’ve been teased a lot recently about the (very remote, probably jupiter-esque remote) chance of lewandowski coming to atletico madrid (my no. 1 lurv)..not fun, i tell you
    great post! i felt like i was reading about myself! dang that goltv schedule

    • justpitchy says:

      I hadn’t heard of that transfer rumor! But there have certainly been quite a few surrounding him, and for good reason I think. Now that I’m a full-blown BVB fan though, I desperately want him to stay (especially with Kagawa leaving). But if he did I’d still get to watch him since I watch a lot of La Liga.

      I just came back from Madrid, and ALMOST got to watch the Copa del Rey at the Calderon. We didn’t have tickets and couldn’t secure any when we were there. But I at least walked around the outside of the stadium. 🙂 You’re the first Atletico Madrid fan I’ve met! Yay! Thanks for reading.

      • maisa798 says:

        Madrid is such a beautiful city isn’t it? I made my first pilgrimage last year for the opening game of the season. Will definitely start paying attention to Bundesliga a little more now. Looking forward to reading more 🙂

      • justpitchy says:

        It is gorgeous! As was Barcelona! I plan on doing a post about our football experiences on our trip… Just have to find the time! And I’m very new to the Bundesliga (just one full season of watching) but I LOVE it and am always looking for others to chat with about it. Not so many fans around where I live. So stay in touch! If you’re on twitter you can find me at @conflicted48. 🙂

Leave a Reply

